Eddy Martono Elected As New Chairman of GAPKI

Bali – Eddy Martono has been elected by acclamation as chairman of the Indonesian Palm Oil Association (GAPKI) for the period of 2023-2028 during the 11th national conference of GAPKI on 8-10 March 2023 in Bali.

Eddy, who previously assumed the position of GAPKI’s Secretary General, replaces Joko Supriyono who had assumed the position of GAPKI chairman for two periods during 2015 – 2023. “I’m ready to do my best in serving the interest of all GAPKI members,” Eddy said in a press statement released on Sunday, 12 March 2023.

According to him, the Indonesian palm oil industry is facing tougher challenges in the future at home and abroad. At home, the main challenge comes from the palm oil production, which has been stagnant during the last few years, and the replanting program of smallholders’ plantations, which is still below target.

“GAPKI will involve in tackling the problems. That’s why our theme in this  11th national conference is partnerships as a solution to increase the productivity of smallholders,” said Eddy.

Eddy pointed out that under his leadership, GAPKI will increase its capacity as the strategic partner of the government that has been well implemented during the previous management of GAPKI. “We’ll strengthen the relations of GAPKI and the government as has been cited by Vice President Ma’ruf Amin when he officially opened the 11th national conference of GAPKI. Palm oil is the gift from God. It can survive the Covid-19 pandemic, while the other industries decline or even die. Now, as the world is facing economic uncertainty and being haunted by global recession, the palm oil industry can still grow relatively well,” he said.

During the 11th conference, 10 names were announced as candidates of chairman based on the proposals from 13 GAPKI provincial branches. They are Dwi Sutoro, Hadi Sugeng, Eddy Martono, Susanto Yang, Dwi Dharmawan, Kacuk Sumarto, Bambang Aria Wisena, Mona Surya, Mustafa Daulay, and Tjokro Putro Wibowo. But only six of the 10 names expressed their readiness to assume the position. They are Eddy Martono, Susanto Yang, Hadi Sugeng, Mona Surya, Tjokro Putro Wibowo, and Dwi Dharmawan. Finally, Eddy Martono was elected by acclamation as the new chairman of GAPKI. (*)

Source: Bisnis.com